Navigation and service


Morsleben Overview

Microsite Morsleben

Morsleben Overview

In the former Bartensleben potash and rock salt mine near Morsleben (Saxony Anhalt), the GDR set up a repository for low-level and intermediate-level radioactive waste. The Federal Republic of Germany continued to use this repository until 1998. Altogether 36,754 cubic metres of low-level and medium-level radioactive waste have been stored in the Morsleben repository.

Booking Request

Booking Request

Booking Request

Want to see at first hand how things look at 500 metres beneath the earth's surface? Let us take you on an interesting and informative journey into the inner workings of Morsleben. We’ll show you what goes on underground, where the radioactive waste will be stored.

Multimedia: Experience Morsleben


Multimedia: Experience Morsleben

In the Media centre you can find publications and videos of the future Morsleben repository.


SafetySafety and radiation protection

Comprehensive monitoring measures serve to ensure the current and future safety of the Morsleben repository. The mine safety of the site is being controlled and the radiation exposure to persons, facilities and the vicinity of the repository is being monitored. The objective is to provide consistent proof of the radioactive materials discharged from the mine and to quickly detect possible changes in order to be able to take action should this become necessary.

SafetyStabilisation of the Morsleben repository

In order to be able to safely operate the Morsleben repository until the nuclear decommissioning procedure concludes with the implementation of the decommissioning measures applied for by the Federal Office for Radiation Protection, the mine openings need to be stable. Neither natural rock movements nor inflowing water must impede the stability. The barrier function of the covering rock layers needs to be kept.

Morsleben RepositoryDisposed radioactive waste

From 1971 to 1991 and from 1994 to 1998, altogether 36,754 cubic metres of low-level and intermediate-level radioactive waste were disposed of in the Morsleben repository for radioactive waste (ERAM). This also includes 6,621 sealed radiation sources. About sixty per cent of the inventory currently being stored originates from the time after the repository had been taken over by the BfS in the course of reunification, starting on 3 October 1990.

Decommissioning conceptThe sealing structures according to the decommissioning concept

In case relevant volumes of influent solutions enter the mine – which is not very probably but needs consideration as well – the emplacement areas eastern field and western-southern field are additionally separated by the other mining districts by sealing structures. Thus, isolated areas which will be dense for the long term will be created in the large and complex mine openings.

SafetyInfluent solutions and brines

In practically all mines, various volumes of influent solutions and brines occur. Influent solutions are groundwater that is saturated with rock salt and flows into the mine workings from outside. Solutions originate from the operation of the mine or were enclosed when the salt rock was generating. In contrast to the solutions from the operation of the mine, the latter are also entirely saturated with rock salt.

Other BfS-Websites

Das Gebäudes des Hauptsitzes in Salzgitter

Federal Office for Radiation Protection

Responsibility for people and the environment: BfS works for the safety and protection of man and the environment against damages due to ionising and non-ionising radiation.

Fördergerüst und Schachthalle Schacht Asse 2

Asse II mine

The Asse II mine near Wolfenbüttel is an approximately 100-year-old potash and salt mine. Between 1967 and 1978 radioactive waste were storaged here. In 2009 the Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS) took over operatorship for the Asse II mine. The task of BfS is to retrieve the radioactive waste and to decommission the Asse mine.

Der Förderturm von Konrad 1

Konrad Repository

The Konrad mine, an abandoned iron ore mine located in the area of the city of Salzgitter is currently being converted to a repository for radioactive waste with negligible heat generation. About 90 per cent of the radioactive waste accruing in Germany is in this category; it does only contain about 0.1 per cent of the total radioactivity of all waste, though.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Navigation und Service

Bürgerservices

Morsleben im Überblick

Microsite Morsleben

Morsleben im Überblick

Im ehemaligen Kali- und Steinsalzbergwerk Bartensleben bei Morsleben (Sachsen-Anhalt) hat die Deutsche Demokratische Republik 1971 ein Endlager für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle eingerichtet. Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland hat dieses Endlager bis 1998 weiter genutzt. Insgesamt sind 36.754 Kubikmeter schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle eingelagert.

Schachtfahrt anfragen

Schachtfahrt anfragen

Schachtfahrt anfragen

Möchten Sie einmal hautnah erleben, wie es fast 500 Meter unter der Erde aussieht? Wir begeben uns mit Ihnen auf eine interessante und informative Reise in das Innere Morslebens. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie unter Tage gearbeitet wird, wo der radioaktive Abfall endgelagert wird.

Multimedia: Morsleben erleben

Multimedia: Morsleben erleben

Multimedia: Morsleben erleben

In der Mediathek finden Sie Publikationen, Videos, Bilder und Fachunterlagen zum Endlager Morsleben.

Themen

SicherheitSicherheit und Strahlenschutz

Umfassende Überwachungsmaßnahmen dienen dazu, die aktuelle und zukünftige Sicherheit des Endlagers Morsleben zu gewährleisten. Dabei werden die bergbauliche Sicherheit des Standortes kontrolliert und Personen, Anlagen und Umgebung des Endlagers radiologisch überwacht. Ziel ist es, einen lückenlosen Nachweis über die auf dem Einwirkungsweg vorhandenen radioaktiven Stoffe zu führen und eventuelle Veränderungen schnell zu erfassen, um bei Bedarf handeln zu können.

SicherheitStabilisierung des Endlagers

Um das Endlager Morsleben bis zur Beendigung des atomrechtlichen Stilllegungsverfahrens und der Umsetzung der vom Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz (BfS) beantragten Stilllegungsmaßnahmen sicher betreiben zu können, muss das Grubengebäude standsicher sein. Weder natürliche Gebirgsbewegungen noch einsickerndes Wasser dürfen die Stabilität beeinträchtigen. Die Barrierefunktion der darüber gelegenen Gesteinsschichten muss erhalten bleiben.

Endlager MorslebenEndgelagerte radioaktive Abfälle

Von 1971 bis 1991 und von 1994 bis 1998 wurden insgesamt 36.754 Kubikmeter schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle im Endlager für radioaktive Abfälle Morsleben (ERAM) endgelagert. Darin enthalten sind auch 6.621 umschlossene Strahlenquellen. Rund sechzig Prozent des derzeit endgelagerten Inventars stammt aus der Zeit nach der Übernahme durch das BfS ab 3. Oktober 1990 im Zuge der Wiedervereinigung.

StilllegungskonzeptDie Abdichtbauwerke des Stilllegungskonzepts

Das Stilllegungskonzept für das Endlager Morsleben sieht den langzeitsicheren Verschluss der beiden Schächte und die weitgehende Vollverfüllung der noch offenen Hohlräume mit Salzbeton vor. Für den wenig wahrscheinlichen aber gleichwohl ebenfalls zu betrachtenden Fall, dass dennoch relevante Mengen an Zutrittswässern in das Grubengebäude eindringen sollten, werden die Einlagerungsbereiche Ostfeld und West-Südfeld zusätzlich durch Abdichtungsbauwerke von den übrigen Grubenbereichen abgetrennt.

SicherheitZutrittswässer und Salzlösungen

In praktisch allen Bergwerken treten Zutrittswässer und Lösungen auf. Zutrittswässer sind mit Steinsalz gesättigte Grundwässer, die von außen in das Grubengebäude einsickern. Salzlösungen stammen aus dem Betrieb des Bergwerks oder wurden bei der Entstehung des Salzgesteins eingeschlossen. Die Zutrittswässer und Lösungen werden vollständig gefasst und teilweise innerhalb des Bergwerks verwertet.

Themen-Websites des BfS

Das Gebäudes des Hauptsitzes in Salzgitter

Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Verantwortung für Mensch und Umwelt: Das BfS arbeitet für die Sicherheit und den Schutz des Menschen und der Umwelt vor Schäden durch ionisierende und nichtionisierende Strahlung.

www.bfs.de

Fördergerüst und Schachthalle Schacht Asse 2

Schachtanlage Asse II

Die Schachtanlage Asse II bei Wolfenbüttel ist ein rund 100 Jahre altes Kali- und Salzbergwerk in das zwischen 1967 und 1978 radioaktive Abfälle eingelagert wurden. Seit 2009 ist das Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz Betreiber der Asse und ist damit beauftragt die radioaktiven Abfälle zurückzuholen und die Schachtanlage stillzulegen.

www.asse.bund.de

Der Förderturm von Konrad 1

Endlager Konrad

Schacht Konrad, ein stillgelegtes Eisenerz-Bergwerk im Stadtgebiet Salzgitter, wird derzeit zum Endlager für radioaktive Abfälle mit vernachlässigbarer Wärmeentwicklung umgerüstet. Rund 90 Prozent der in Deutschland anfallenden radioaktiven Abfälle gehören in diese Kategorie, sie beinhalten aber nur etwa 0,1 Prozent der gesamten Radioaktivität allen Abfalls.

www.endlager-konrad.de

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz